CYBER MONDAY STARTS ON SUNDAY! | 20% OFF BOOKS 11/28-29/21 (no code required) | Happy browsing!

Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream

Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream

$24.95

Authors: Tung Nguyen, Katherine Manning, Lyn Nguyen, and Elisa Ung | Hardcover

A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.

Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature. 

In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.

Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts--a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.

- IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.
- TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.
- INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.

Perfect for:

- Fans of culinary nonfiction
- Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen
- Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking